23
Aug
11

Tom’s Of Maine


I really wanted to write about this company, because they are very unique.  I remember them when they had first come on the store shelves and my parents thought their products were a great idea.  They even had me try their deodorant, and when I saw them on “How I Made My Millions”, I knew I had to write about them.

Tom’s of Maine is great because they use all natural ingredients in their products.  I remember the Deodorant and how different it was compared to the other deodorant products you normally find out there.  It was runny, almost like a liquid and had what seemed like some kind of herb or something in it.  I never checked the ingredients, but it seemed all natural to me.

The one product which Tom’s of Maine is best known for though is their toothpaste.  I have never tried their toothpaste, but I am sure it must be good if so many people like it.  How did this company start out?  Well, it had a very rocky beginning.  Founded by Tom Chappell, had a very difficult time in getting the ingredients just right to even be effective.  When they found out it was ineffective, they went back to the drawing board to figure out what would work.

They got it right after a while, but this flaw was due to the fact that Tom did not have any real lab experience.  He mostly had the great idea of making all natural hygiene  products.

Tom’s of Maine is now owned by Colgate-Pomolive, who bought out the company for $100,000,000.00 now owning 84 percent of the company.  They have approximately 90 oral- and body-care products are sold at more than 40,000 retail outlets worldwide.

0 Responses to “Tom’s Of Maine”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

